Micro:bit Startup Trouble

Oh no..not again. It seems like that my new notebook/laptop cannot detect my old V1 microbit board. I have tried couple of days and seems that there are things missing?

twin peaks friendship GIF

Microbit is running together with Scratch app for OS support for: Windows 10 1709+, macOS 10.13+ ,  Chrome OS or Android 6.0+ ,and Bluetooth 4.0.

  • The startup steps:
    1. Install Scratch Link (skip this step for Chrome OS and Android)
    2. Download and unzip the micro:bit Scratch Hex file.
    3. Flash the micro:bit over USB with the Scratch .Hex File, you will see the five-character name of the micro:bit scroll across the screen eg ‘zutiz’.

Ouch, I have been stuck in above 3 steps using my new Win10 notebook with Bluetooth 5.

Finally, I switch to my Mac book and it works following above 3 steps. Cool. I got my Hello project with Scratch done.

Hello in Scratch

Thanks for reading and stay safe during lock down.

Leave a comment